How did the Rugby World Cup qualify for 2015?

The qualification process for the 2015 Rugby World Cup began during the pool stages of the 2011 tournament in New Zealand, during which the top three teams from each of the four pools were awarded automatic qualification for the 2015 event. A further eight teams qualified through regional tournaments and the repechage process.

Where are the Rugby World Cup teams ranked?

With Rugby World Cup 2015 only nine months away, we take a closer look at the four pools in terms of where the teams currently sit in the World Rugby rankings.

How many places are available for Rugby World Cup 2023?

There are now just seven outstanding qualification places to be filled at Rugby World Cup 2023 after Samoa confirmed their place at the tournament. Mon 19 July, 2021 · 3 min read RWC 2023

When did the draw for the Rugby World Cup take place?

The pool draw for the 2015 Rugby World Cup took place on 3 December 2012. As with the 2011 tournament, the top 12 teams were grouped into 3 bands for the pool draw as per their IRB Rankings on that date, while the other 8 qualifying teams were split into a fourth and fifth band. One team from each band was drawn into each pool.

Who are the qualifiers for the Rugby World Cup 2023?

Kenya, Ivory Coast, Namibia and Senegal stay in the Rugby World Cup 2023 qualification race, while elsewhere Portugal, Chile and Samoa take positive steps towards reaching France. Mon 12 July, 2021

How are the Places in the Rugby World Cup determined?

The qualification system for the remaining eight places will be region-based with Europe and the Americas allocated two qualifying places, Africa, Asia and Oceania one place each, with the last place determined by a play-off. The first Rugby World Cup, the tournament of 1987 held no qualifying tournament.

Who is the CEO of France rugby 2023?

France 2023 CEO Claude Atcher has launched the Rugby World Cup France 2023 Players’ Committee, with Australian rugby legend John Eales as Chairman. Thu 22 April, 2021 03:10 mins