How many states did Romney win 2012?

Romney carried six states, Santorum carried three, and Gingrich won only in his home state of Georgia.

Was NC red or blue in 2012?

North Carolina was one of just two states (along with Indiana) that flipped from voting for Obama in 2008 to voting Republican in 2012. Like Indiana, North Carolina had been a reliably Republican state prior to Obama’s 2008 win, having not previously gone Democratic since 1976.

Who did Florida vote for in 2012?

Despite Tampa having been the site of the 2012 Republican National Convention, Obama ultimately carried Florida with 50.01% of the vote, to Romney’s 49.13%, a margin of 0.88%. Having also won the state in 2008, Obama’s 2012 victory made him the first Democratic president since Franklin D.

Are there red states and blue states in the United States?

The polarization has been present for only three close elections (2000, 2004 and 2016). In the 1996 election, 31 U.S. states were “blue” (i.e. they voted for Democrat Bill Clinton) and 19 “red” (i.e. they voted for Republican Bob Dole), though at the time the current color scheme was not as universal as today).

When to use red and blue states in Brazil?

Since 1998, the red state vs. blue state mechanism is also used for television coverage of presidential elections in Brazil, with blue being used to indicate states won by the PSDB (1998–2014) or the PSL (2018), and red being used to indicate states won by the PT .

What does it mean when a state is a purple state?

A purple state refers to a swing state where both Democratic and Republican candidates receive strong support without an overwhelming majority of support for either party. Purple states are also often referred to as battleground states.

What’s the difference between a red and a blue flag?

The choice of colors reverses a long-standing convention of political colors whereby red symbols (such as the red flag or red star) are associated with left-wing politics and right-wing movements often choose blue as a contrasting color.