What are the 10 protected classes in California?

What Are Protected Classes in California?

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • National origin.
  • Religion.
  • Sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions)
  • Disability.
  • Age (40 and older)
  • Citizenship status.

Is FEHA federal or state?

California’s FEHA is the primary source of state anti-discrimination law. In addition, all employers are covered by FEHA with respect to harassment.

Is FEHA federal?

The California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) is the primary law that provides employees with protection from discrimination, retaliation and harassment in employment. Many of the same nondiscrimination and harassment principles of federal law also apply under the FEHA.

Which of these is a protected class under the California Fair Employment and Housing Act?

California’s Fair Employment & Housing Act (“FEHA”) protects employees from illegal discrimination and harassment in employment based on race, color, religion, sex (pregnancy or gender), sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, mental and physical disability (including HIV/AIDS), medical condition …

What are the 7 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

Is it legal to hire based on attractiveness?

No federal legislation currently exists that specifically bans employers from making employment decisions based on criteria that includes physical attractiveness or personal appearance. Several non-job-related factors are protected by law, however, including race, age, gender, ethnicity, and disability.

Who is covered under FEHA?

The FEHA applies to public and private employers, labor organizations, apprentice training programs, employment agencies, and licensing boards. An employer can be one or more individuals, partnerships, corporations or companies.

Is FEHA a statute?

Scope. The FEHA is the principal California statute prohibiting employment discrimination covering employers, labor organizations, employment agencies, apprenticeship programs and any person or entity who aids, abets, incites, compels, or coerces the doing of a discriminatory act.

What are the 11 legally protected classes?

What are the 12 protected characteristics?

Protected characteristics These are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation.

Do people get hired based on looks?

Overall, 90% of employers said having a professional appearance is an important aspect of successfully navigating the hiring process at their company. For what it’s worth, 57% of employers said they’re more lenient about appearances if an applicant is younger than 24.

What do you need to know about FEHA in California?

Under FEHA, harassment is prohibited in all workplaces, including those with fewer than five employees and the statute prohibits harassment based on a protected category against an employee, an applicant, an unpaid intern or volunteer or a contractor. Under California law,…

Who is responsible for enforcing the California Fair Employment and Housing Act?

Under California law, individuals are protected from illegal discrimination by employers based on the following categories: Military and veteran status. Who enforces FEHA? The Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) and other civil rights laws in California are enforced by the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH).

What are protected classes in the state of California?

National origin (includes language use and possession of a driver’s license issued to persons unable to provide their presence in the United State is authorized under federal law) Disability (mental and physical including HIV/AIDS, cancer, and genetic characteristics) Request for leave for an employee’s own serious health condition

Is the FEHA a protected category in the workplace?

The FEHA prohibits harassment based on a protected category against an employee, an applicant, an unpaid intern or volunteer, or a contractor. Harassment is prohibited in all workplaces, even those with fewer than five employees.