What is a class 7 MOT?

Class 7 MOTs are for commercial vehicles weighing between 3,000kg and 3,500kg design gross weight. The tests for both vehicle classes for the most part cover the same areas, but Class 7 MOTs allow for greater weights from heavier vehicles, checking that the tyres fitted are suitable for the load that they are carrying.

What class MOT is a trike?

class three
Trikes are tested as class three vehicles much like other three wheeler vehicles.

What is a Class 7 vehicle UK?

The class 7 MOT is for bigger goods vehicles weighing from 3,000 – 3,500 KG and it includes larger Transit vans, lorries, high-tops and trucks.

What is the difference between a Class 4 and Class 7 MOT?

A class 4 MOT is the most common one and the MOT required on all passenger cars, whilst a class 7 MOT is usually carried out on commercial goods vehicles that carry between 3,000 kg and 3,500 kg in weight.

What is a class seven vehicle?

Class 7—The GVWRs for this class range between 26,001 and 33,000 pounds and usually have three axles or more. This class covers city vehicles such as street sweepers, garbage trucks, and city transit buses. Furniture trucks and smaller semis fit into this category as well.

How much is a class 7 MOT?

MOT costs

Vehicle class Maximum MOT fee
Playbuses 5 £80.65
Class 5 vehicles (13 to 16 passenger seats) with a seatbelt installation check 5a £80.50
Class 5 vehicles (more than 16 passenger seats) with a seatbelt installation check 5a £124.50
Goods vehicles (over 3,000kg up to 3,500kg design gross weight) 7 £58.60

Can you drive a 3 wheel motorcycle on a car licence?

1: you no longer need a car licence to drive/ride a three-wheeler, you need a motorcycle licence. Able-bodied provisional licence holders who wish to ride motor tricycles will have to pass CBT and practical tests on a two wheeled motorcycle A1 or A without a sidecar.

What’s a Class 4 vehicle?

Class 4. This includes most road vehicles: Cars (with up to eight passenger seats) Private passenger vehicles (up to 12 passenger seats) Goods and services vehicles with a gross weight of up to 3,000kg.

What vehicle is a Class 7?

Q. What is a Class 7? Class 7 MOTs are for commercial vehicles weighing 3,000kg to 3,500kg. Cars and smaller vans require a Class 4 MOT.

What is a Class 8 vehicle?

Class 8—This class applies to most of the rest. It’s for the really huge trucks with GVWRs over 33,001. The vehicles in this class are more than heavy duty. Typically called “severe duty,” Class 8 applies to cement trucks and dump trucks.

What do you need to know about class 7 Mot?

Class 7 MOT tests are for Goods Vehicles (between 3.0 – 3.5 tonnes) including vans, transits, motorhomes and pickups. The Class 7 MOT is for light commercial goods vehicles weighing between 3 and 3.5 tonnes. Please note the Class 7 MOT is only available in selected locations.

How big is a Class 7 MOT Bay?

A class 7 MoT bay has a minimum headroom requirement of 4.8 metres from the lift platform when in the fully lowered position with a class 4 MoT bay having a minimum headroom requirement of 3.8 metres measured from the platform surfaces when fully lowered.

What are the dimensions of a MOT test Bay?

The MoT test bay and layout dimensions in this part form the minimum requirements measured from the inside of walls and doors of an MoT testing station, as appropriate. Premises, test bays and equipment layouts will be considered suitable if they meet the following:

How tall is the entrance to a MOT Bay?

Clear unobstructed access from the entrance of the building to the MoT testing equipment. Vehicle entrances and exits must be at least 3.2 metres in height and 3.5 metres in width, where the entrance to the MoT testing area is located within 7.0 metres of a Plate Brake Tester the door width needs to be a minimum of 3.6 metres.