What is the land area of Compostela Valley?

4,480 km²
Compostela Valley/Area

What is the province of Compostela Valley?

Davao del Norte province
The province of Davao de Oro was formerly known as Compostela Valley and was carved from the Davao del Norte province by virtue of Republic Act 8470 ratified on 8 March 1998. It celebrates its founding anniversary every 8th of March.

What is Compostela Valley known for?

Compostela Valley has been regarded as Mindanao’s “golden province” because of its vibrant mining industry and the rich gold mineral deposits that can be found at the bosom of its mountains.

How many barangays are in the Compostela Valley?

16 barangays
Compostela is politically subdivided into 16 barangays.

What ethnic group is the most dominant in Compostela Valley province?

Although a virtual melting pot, the Visayans (mostly Cebuano-speaking) are the dominant group in Compostela Valley.

What are the three seas that surround Mindanao?

Mindanao, island, the second largest (after Luzon) in the Philippines, in the southern part of the archipelago, surrounded by the Bohol, Philippine, Celebes, and Sulu seas.

What is the capital of Rizal province?

Rizal, officially the Province of Rizal (Tagalog: Lalawigan ng Rizal), is a province in the Philippines located in the Calabarzon region in Luzon. Its capital is the city of Antipolo. It is about 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) east of Manila.

Where is the banana capital of the Philippines?

Davao del Norte
Davao del Norte is primarily an agricultural province. No wonder it is hailed as the Banana Capital of the Philippines, with many plantations run by multinationals and local producers.

What is the religion of Mansaka?

Half of the group followed the Muslim faith, while the other half retained their traditional faith. The term “Mansaka” derives from “man” meaning “first” and “saka” meaning “to ascend,” so Mansaka means “the first people to ascend the mountains or go upstream.” Farming is their primary source of living.

What are the culture in Mindanao?

Mindanao is a Muslim outpost in the predominantly Roman Catholic Philippines. Although Muslims are no longer a majority, Islamic culture is evident; there are many mosques, and distinctive brassware, including the kris, or dagger, is manufactured.

What is the religion of Mindanao?

Roman Catholic and Islam are the two religions most widely spread across Mindanao. These two denominations together cover the religious affiliation of more than half of the islands’ population.

What symbolizes Rizal province?

The Sun Wreath of Laurel Leaves and Dove symbolize the peace and tranquility obtaining in the Province. The official colors are gold, green, and blue.

Where is Compostela Valley in the Philippines located?

www.ecomval.gov.ph. Compostela Valley (Cebuano: Kawalogang Kompostela), or ComVal, is a province in the Philippines located in the Davao Region in Mindanao.

How to get to Compostela Valley from Davao City?

It showcases the thanksgiving for the abundant harvest of the people of the municipality. Highlights the “Indak-indak sa Kadalanan”, a street dancing competition. Compostela Valley is accessible by air, land, and sea transportation. Davao City, 979 km. from Manila, is the gateway to the province.

How many people live in Compostela, Davao de Oro?

Compostela, officially the Municipality of Compostela ( Cebuano: Lungsod sa Compostela; Tagalog: Bayan ng Compostela ), is a 1st class municipality in the province of Davao de Oro, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 87,474 people. There are no written records as to how Compostela got its name.

How many people live in Compostela, Philippines?

Compostela, officially the Municipality of Compostela, is a 1st class municipality in the province of Compostela Valley, Philippines. According to the 2015 census, it has a population of 87,474 people.