What is the rating scale for TV shows?

Under this revised system, television programming would continue to fall into one of the six ratings categories (TV-Y, TV-Y7, TV-G, TV-PG, TV-14 or TV-MA), but content descriptors would be added to the ratings where appropriate, based on the type(s) of objectionable content included in the individual program or episode …

What is the R rating for TV?

Rated PG: Parental guidance suggested – Some material may not be suitable for children. Rated PG-13: Parents strongly cautioned – Some material may be inappropriate for children under 13. Rated R: Restricted – Under 17 requires accompanying parent or adult guardian. Rated NC-17: No children under 17 admitted.

Is TV-MA or R worse?

Programming rated TV-MA in the United States by the TV Parental Guidelines signifies content for mature audiences. It is equivalent to the MPAA film ratings R and NC-17. Programs with this rating are usually not suitable for minors under 17 years of age (18 in some cases).

Is PG-13 or TV-14 worse?

Programming rated TV-14 in the United States TV Parental Guidelines signifies content with parents strongly cautioned. It is equivalent to the MPAA film rating PG-13. Content may be unsuitable for minors younger than 14 years of age.

Is rated R or rated M worse?

An R-rated film may contain “adult themes, adult activity, hard language, intense or persistent violence, sexually-oriented nudity, drug abuse or other elements.” On the other hand, titles given an M rating may have content that includes “intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language.”

Is PG 13 or TV 14 worse?

What is TV-MA equal to?

TV-MA – TV Mature Audience Only This program is specifically designed to be viewed by adults and therefore may be unsuitable for children under 17.

What does the MPAA rating system mean?

The MPAA rating system is one of various motion picture rating systems that are used to help parents decide what films are appropriate for their children . It is administered by the Classification & Ratings Administration (CARA), an independent division of the MPAA.

What is the history behind the MPAA rating system?

In 1968, the MPAA established the Code and Rating Administration, or CARA (later renamed the Classification and Rating Administration), which began issuing ratings for films exhibited and distributed commercially in the United States to help parents determine what films are appropriate for their children.

How are MPAA ratings determined?

The ratings are determined by the amount of questionable content in a film, including foul language, violence, and depictions of sex, drug paraphernalia and alcohol or drug abuse. While the exact rules are fluid and have never been publicly released by the MPAA, certain guidelines do exist that may push a film from one category to another.

What does the MPAA do?

The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) is a powerful, influential and often controversial trade organization representing all of the major American movie studios. It was formed in 1922 as a way of protecting movie studios against overzealous censorship boards.