What was the Chicago Bears record in 1985?

The 1985 Chicago Bears season was their 66th regular season and 16th post-season completed in the National Football League (NFL). The Bears entered 1985 looking to improve on their 10–6 record from 1984 and advance further than the NFC Championship Game, where they lost to the 15–1 San Francisco 49ers.

When did the Chicago Bears win their last championship?

As of 2021, it is also their most recent championship. The 1985 Chicago Bears are one of the few teams to consistently challenge the undefeated 1972 Miami Dolphins for the unofficial title of the greatest NFL team of all time.

Who was the coach of the Chicago Bears in 1982?

Hughes spent nearly 40 years in football as a player and coach. His longest tenure was as a coach was with the Bears, from 1982 to ’88, when he served as offensive coordinator and occasional foil to Bears defensive coordinator Buddy Ryan.

Who was the kicker for the Chicago Bears in 1985?

Affectionately nicknamed “Butthead” by his teammates, Butler was the Bears’ kicker for 11 seasons, starting as a rookie during the Super Bowl-winning 1985 season. Butler replaced longtime Bears kicker Bob Thomas, who went on to become an Illinois Supreme Court justice.

Who was the general manager of the Bears in 1987?

Dooley passed away in January 2008, one month shy of his 78th birthday. The late Jim Finks, the former Bears general manager, recruited Earley to move with him from the Vikings to the Bears in 1974. Earley remained in Chicago through the 1987 season before retiring back to Maplewood (a suburb of St. Paul) in his native Minnesota.

Who was the coach of the Bears in 1986?

1986 Chicago Bears season; Owner: The McCaskey Family (Family control since 1921; Virginia McCaskey since 1983) Head coach: Mike Ditka (5th season) General manager: Jerry Vainisi (Since 1983) Home field: Soldier Field: Results; Record: 14–2: Division place: 1st NFC Central: Playoff finish: Lost Divisional Playoffs 27–13: Pro Bowlers

What was the Chicago Bears defense in 1986?

The Bears’ defense became the third defense in the history of the NFL to lead the league in fewest points allowed and fewest total yards allowed for two consecutive seasons.