When did each member state join the EU?

Listed by accession date

# State Accession
1–6 West Germany 23 July 1952 ( ECSC) 1 January 1958 ( EEC)
7–9 Denmark 1 January 1973 ( EC)
United Kingdom

How many states have joined the EU?

The European Union (EU) consists of 27 member states.

What were the first 15 countries to join the EU?

In May 2004, 10 more countries joined the EU: Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia. On 1 January 2007, Bulgaria and Romania became members of the EU….Glossary:European Union (EU)

Austria Croatia
(AT) (HR)
Estonia Germany
(EE) (DE)
Italy Luxembourg

Who joined the EU in 1952?

To this end, in 1951 the leaders of six countries—Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany—signed the Treaty of Paris, thereby, when it took effect in 1952, founding the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC).

What is the most recent country to join EU?

Since then, the EU’s membership has grown to twenty-seven, with the latest member state being Croatia, which joined in July 2013. The most recent territorial enlargement of the EU was the incorporation of Mayotte in 2014.

Is Turkey a EU member?

Turkey is one of the EU’s main partners and both are members of the European Union–Turkey Customs Union. Turkey borders two EU member states: Bulgaria and Greece. Turkey has been an applicant to accede to the EU since 1987, but since 2016 accession negotiations have stalled.

Which countries are on the waiting list to join the EU?

There are five recognised candidates for membership of the European Union: Turkey (applied in 1987), North Macedonia (applied in 2004), Montenegro (applied in 2008), Albania (applied in 2009) and Serbia (applied in 2009).

How many member states are there in the EU?

The European Union (EU) consists of 28 member states. Each member state is party to the founding treaties of the union and thereby subject to the privileges and obligations of membership.

How does a country become a member of the European Union?

To join the European Union, it is required for all member states to agree; if a single member state disagrees, the applying country is declined accession to the European Union. In addition to enlargement by adding new countries, the EU can also expand by having territories of member states, which are outside the EU,…

Who are the 15 members of the European Union?

EU15 includes the fifteen countries in the European Union from 1 January 1995 to 1 May 2004. The EU15 comprised Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom. Eurostat still uses this expression.

Who are the 8 countries that joined the EU in 2004?

A8 is eight of the ten countries that joined the EU in 2004, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Slovak Republic, and Slovenia. A2 is the countries that joined the EU in 2007, Bulgaria and Romania. Member states of the European Union (dark blue) (1993–present).