Where was the Rugby Championship held in 2012?

The 2012 Rugby Championship was the inaugural annual rugby union series between the national rugby union teams of New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina.

Are there any women’s rugby teams in the NCAA?

Women’s Rugby has been classified as an NCAA Emerging Sport since 2002. There are over 900 college teams—male and female—registered with USA Rugby. There are over 32,000 college players registered with USA Rugby, making college rugby the largest section of USA Rugby’s membership.

Are there any college rugby teams that won a national championship?

College club rugby includes a national championship competition (since 1980). California has won the majority of titles, with Air Force and BYU also winning multiple championships.

Who are the governing bodies for college rugby?

In the United States, college rugby is governed by (in descending order of authority): USA Rugby, geographical unions (GUs) and local area unions (LAUs) (e.g., NERFU ). USA Rugby has established a College Management Committee and a collegiate director, Rich Cortez, to oversee college rugby. The NCAA has no authority over college rugby.

When was the last time Australia won the Rugby Championship?

Tri-Nations (1996–2011; 2020) Year Champions BC WS 1996 New Zealand New Zealand Australia 1997 New Zealand New Zealand Australia 1998 South Africa Australia New Zealand 1999 New Zealand Australia South Africa

What is the name of the Rugby Championship?

For sponsorship reasons, the competition was known as The Castle Rugby Championship in South Africa, The Investec Rugby Championship in New Zealand, The Castrol Edge Rugby Championship in Australia and The Personal Rugby Championship in Argentina.

Who was the first country to win the Rugby World Cup?

The first Rugby Championship was won by New Zealand, who won all six of their matches. New Zealand, Australia and South Africa have frequently been ranked among the top rugby nations, with Australia winning the Rugby World Cup twice and New Zealand and South Africa winning it three times.