Do exempt employees have to work 40 hours a week?

Although some employers require exempt employees to track their hours worked, many do not. An exempt employee is not paid overtime wages for hours worked over 40 in a workweek. To be considered exempt from FLSA, an employee must be paid on a salary basis, and must have exempt job duties.

What is an exempt employee in Arizona?

In Arizona, there is no legal definition for exempt and nonexempt employees. Everybody is entitled to a minimum wage. “Exempt employees are generally expected to devote the number of hours necessary to complete their respective tasks, regardless of whether that requires 35 hours per week or 55 hours per week.

What is the minimum salary for exempt employees in Arizona 2021?

For the administrative, professional, and executive exemptions under state law, employers with 26 or more employees must pay a salary of at least $1,120 per week beginning January 1, 2021. Employers with fewer than 26 employees must pay a minimum salary of at least $1,040 in 2021.

How many hours does an exempt employee have to work per day?

It’s usually legal for an employer to require exempt employees to work more than 40 hours.

What is the new overtime law for salaried employees?

New Overtime Salary Rules Effective January 1, 2020 The new overtime rule sets the minimum yearly salary for exempt employees at $35,568 or $684 per week, versus the current salary requirement of $23,600/year or $455 per week.

Can you track hours for exempt employees?

Employers should understand that, except under limited circumstances, deducting from an exempt employee’s pay for hours not worked violates the Fair Labor Standards Act. Although it is acceptable to track exempt employees’ time, it is, in most cases, not acceptable to deduct from their pay for hours not worked.

What are the 8 categories of exempt employees?

Requirements differ from state to state, but the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) classifies exempt employees as anyone doing jobs that fall into these categories: professional, administrative, executive, outside sales, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math)-related, and computer-related.

What is the minimum exempt salary in Arizona?

Even if an employee meets the job duties test, he/she is not Exempt unless he/she receives a guaranteed salary of at least $455 per week ($23,660 annually). On December 1, 2016, that minimum annual salary more than doubles – it increases to $913 per week ($47,476 annually).

Are 15 minute breaks required by law in Arizona?

There is no federal law or Arizona state law that says employers must provide breaks and lunches. Employers usually provide lunch periods of thirty minutes or more. Under special conditions, employers can provide an unpaid lunch period shorter than 30 minutes.

Does an exempt employee have to work 8 hours a day?

Key Disadvantages of Exempt Salaries It also does not set any minimum number of hours for salaried employees. Under the FLSA’s exempt employee rules, exempt employees are not eligible for overtime pay after working 40 hours per week.

How many hours a week must an exempt employee work?

Exempt employees may not be eligible for overtime or breaks. However, exempt employees must be paid at twice the minimum hourly wage based on a 40-hour workweek. As an exempt employee, an employer could require the employee to work more than 40-hours per week without overtime pay.

Is it legal to work over 40 hours a week in Arizona?

Arizona does not have a specific overtime law, but instead follows federal labor laws. You may be eligible for overtime pay under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act for working over 40 hours in one (1) week.

What are the laws on overtime in Arizona?

Arizona does not have a specific overtime law, but instead follows federal labor laws. You may be eligible for overtime pay under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act for working over 40 hours in one (1) week. Where can an Employee File a Wage Complaint if the Employee Believes they Have not been Paid Properly?

How often do employers have to pay employees in Arizona?

Under Arizona law, all Arizona-based employers must pay their employees at least twice per month, no more than 16 days apart. If a payday falls on a holiday, the employer must pay the employee prior to the scheduled payday.

Who is exempt from minimum wage laws in Arizona?

While salaried Administrative, Executive, and Professional employees can be exempt under federal law, they are not exempt from the Arizona minimum wage regulations. This means these employees must be paid a salary that equates to at least minimum wage for all hours worked.