Does cauldron of souls work with tokens?
2013-06-07: If a token with no -1/-1 counters on it has persist, the ability will trigger when the token is put into the graveyard. However, the token will cease to exist and can’t return to the battlefield….Cauldron of Souls.
How does cauldron of souls work?
: Choose any number of target creatures. Each of those creatures gains persist until end of turn. (When it’s put into a graveyard from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a -1/-1 counter on it.)
Is cauldron of souls good?
It’s very good. Doesn’t work well with tokens or weenies, but it’s amazing with fatties and overrun strategies. Also combos very well with undying mechanic, and is a must in Mikey 2.0 builds.
Does cauldron of souls target?
You activate Cauldron of Souls targeting all of your opponents’ creatures. Then, the ability granted to those creatures by Dismiss into Dream triggers. When those resolve (because they’re on top of the Cauldron activation), the creatures are sacrificed.
What happens if a token has persist?
Rulings. All cards currently printed with persist are creatures. If a card with persist is removed from a graveyard before the persist ability resolves, persist will do nothing. Tokens can gain persist, and the ability will trigger if a token dies.
Does persist work with Hapatra?
Does Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons work with Persist or other creatures that enter with the -1/-1 counters or no? Yes. When a permanent enters the battlefield with counters on it, those counters are considered to be placed on it and will trigger abilities that look for counters to be put on permanents.
How does persist work?
“Persist” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a -1/-1 counter on it.”
Does persist work with tokens MTG?
Tokens can gain persist, and the ability will trigger if a token dies. However, like all tokens, it can’t return to the battlefield and will cease to exist as a state-based action before the ability would go on the stack.
Can tokens get persist?
Is animate dead an aura?
Animate Dead is an Aura, albeit with an unusual enchant ability. You target a creature card in a graveyard when you cast it. It enters the battlefield attached to that card. Animate Dead itself never moves into a graveyard during this process.
Is animate dead a permanent?
“When Animate Dead enters the battlefield, if it’s on the battlefield, it loses “enchant creature card in a graveyard” and gains “enchant creature put onto the battlefield with Animate Dead.” The permanent it is allowed to enchant is the “creature put onto the battlefield with Animate Dead”.
Can you animate dead a creature with shroud?
Abilities such as shroud and protection function only on the battlefield unless otherwise specified. A creature card with shroud may be targeted by Animate Dead, and Animate Dead will become attached to the creature that enters the battlefield. Attempting to move Animate Dead to another creature won’t work.