What are ragas with 6 Swaras called?

Shadava Ragas Shadava rāgas are janya ragas that have exactly six notes in ascending and descending scale.

How many Swaras are there in mohanam?

Mohanam is usually classified as a janya rāga of Harikambhoji, the 28th Melakarta rāga, though alternate opinions exist that prefer classifying it as a janya raga of Kalyani based on its lakshana.

How many Swaras are used in raga?

seven swaras
Shadja, Rishabha, Gandhara, Madhyama, Panchama, Dhaivata, [and seventh] Nishada. These seven swaras are shared by both major raga systems of Indian classical music, that is the North Indian (Hindustani) and South Indian (Carnatic).

How many minimum Swaras are required to form any raga?

Janya ragas require should consist minimum of five notes from a Melakartha raga.

Which Raag is for happiness?

The ragas with emotion labels of calm/happy were Hansdhwani, Tilak Kamod, Desh, Yaman, Ragesree, Jog while ragas with emotion labels of sad/longing/tensed were Malkauns, Shree, Marwa, Miyan ki Todi, Basant Mukhari, Lalit.

Which raga is known as pentatonic raga?

Bhoopali, also known as Bhoop, Bhopali, or Bhupali, is a Hindustani classical raga. Bhupālī, is a raag in Kalyan Thaat. It is a pentatonic scale (uses 5 notes in ascending and descending scale).

Is mohanam a morning raga?

The Mohana Ragam In Hindustani Classical Music, the Mohanam ragam is called Bhoopali or Bhoop with the same Swaras in it. It is an evening/sandhya raga in the first prahar (6-9 PM) of the night.

What are the 7 swaras?

The notes, or swaras, of Indian music are shadjam (sa), rishabham (re or ri), gandharam (ga), madhyamam (ma), panchamam (pa), dhaivatam (dha or da) and nishadam (ni). Each shuddha swara is traditionally known to have originated from the sound of different animals, and some have additional meanings of their own.

Why are there 7 swaras?

There is a belief that the seven ‘swaras’ in the Hindustani Music were conceived from the sounds of the nature. The seven swaras as we all know are- Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni. If we get into too deep into these swaras then these swaras further have 7 divisions.

What are the five rules for a raga?


  • The raag must belong to a thaat.
  • It must be melodic in nature.
  • It comprises of a minimum five notes.
  • A raag must have Aaroha as well as Avaroha.
  • Each raag has the note Sa present in it.
  • Each raag has either Madhyam and/or Pancham.

What is a female Raag called?

Since the Raga Kambhoji has been classified as Female Raga (i.e., Ragini), this Raga is particularly suitable in conveying the sentiments of Shringara (romantic and erotic), Hasya (humorous) and Karuna (pathos).

What kind of music is Bahudari made of?

Bahudari (pronounced bahudāri) is a rāgam in Carnatic music (musical scale of South Indian classical music). It is a derived scale ( janya rāgam), as it does not have all the seven swaras (musical notes), derived from the 28th Melakarta raga Harikambhoji.

Which is svara takes the place of vivadi svara?

A Vivadi svara is a svara which takes over the place of another svaras at certain time.

What kind of notes are used in Bhairavi?

The notes used are chathusruthi rishabham, sadharana gandharam, shuddha madhyamam, chathusruthi dhaivatham & shuddha dhaivathamand kaishika nishadham. Note the use of both dhaivathams, chathusruthi(D2) in ārohaṇaand shuddha(D1) in avarohaṇa.