What are the countries in the British Isles of Europe?

The British Isles are made up of: Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland,England and Wales. The United Kingdom (owned by the British crown) includes: Northern Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales.

Where is the British Isles in Europe?

British Isles, group of islands off the northwestern coast of Europe. The group consists of two main islands, Great Britain and Ireland, and numerous smaller islands and island groups, including the Hebrides, the Shetland Islands, the Orkney Islands, the Isles of Scilly, and the Isle of Man.

What separates the British Isles from Europe?

North Sea
The British Isles are separated from the Continent by the North Sea, the English Channel and the Strait of Dover. The western coast of Great Britain is washed by the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish Sea.

How many British Isles are there?

British Isles – a collection of over 6,000 islands, of which Great Britain is the largest.

Is Britain and British the same?

Britain or Great Britain consists of England, Scotland, and Wales. The United Kingdom consists of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. The British Isles refers to Britain, Ireland, and all the smaller islands around the coast. You can refer to all the people who come from Britain as the British.

What language is spoken in the British Isles?

English is spoken across the UK, but it is not the only native official language. You may also hear: Welsh in Wales. Gaelic and Scots in Scotland.

Was England once joined to France?

About 500,000 years ago, a land bridge of low hills connected Britain to France between the Weald in south-eastern England and the Artois in northern France.

Why are there two different flags for England?

Derived flags (The Union of the Crowns having occurred in 1603). From 1801, to symbolise the union of the Kingdom of Great Britain with the Kingdom of Ireland, a new design which included the St Patrick’s Cross was adopted for the flag of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.

Does Wales belong to England?

listen)) is a country that is part of the United Kingdom. It is bordered by England to the east, the Irish Sea to the north and west, and the Bristol Channel to the south. The whole of Wales was annexed by England and incorporated within the English legal system under the Laws in Wales Acts 1535 and 1542.

How many counties are in the British Isles?

Britain is made up of 5 main countries, namely England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and Ireland. Each country is made up of multiple regions, known as Counties.

What is the geography of the British Isles?

Geographical terms: The British Isles is a group of islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Continental Europe. It includes Ireland, Great Britain, the Isle of Man, Shetland, Orkney , and thousands of smaller islands.

How many islands are in Great Britain?

Great Britain is surrounded by more than 1,000 island and islets. 2.

What are the islands of the UK?

The British Isles . The British Isles is the name of a group of islands situated off the north western corner of mainland Europe. It is made up of Great Britain, Ireland, The Isle of Man, The Isles of Scilly, The Channel Islands (including Guernsey, Jersey, Sark and Alderney), as well as over 6,000 other smaller islands.