What did the pipiltin do?

The pipiltin held the high ranking positions in the priesthood, the army, and the government. They formed the city council which helped to rule the city-states. The king was always chosen from the pipiltin. Pochteca – There was a special class of Aztec merchants called pochteca.

Who were the most feared Aztec warriors?

Beyond the warrior societies listed above, some of the most prestigious warriors in Aztec culture were the Eagle warriors and the Jaguar warriors. Both the Eagle and Jaguar warriors were referred to as ‘cuāuhocēlōtl’ and were the two most elite types of warriors in the Aztec military.

What is a Calpulli Aztecs?

: a clan or ward constituting the fundamental unit of Aztec society.

What were the 7 classes of Aztec society?

Aztec society was composed of eight different social classes which were made up of rulers, warriors, nobility, priests and priestesses, free poor, slaves, servants, and the middle class. The most important of these were the tlatoani (rulers), warriors, nobility, and the high priests and priestesses.

What was the largest Aztec class?

The middle class in Aztec society were referred to as macehualtin and they made up the largest group of people in Aztec society.

Who is the most famous Aztec warrior?

Ahuitzotl, (died 1502, Tenochtitlán [Mexico]), eighth king of the Aztecs, under whose reign (1486–1502) the Aztec empire reached its greatest extent. The aggressive Ahuitzotl succeeded his brother, Tizoc, to the throne.

What are the 7 Aztec tribes?

The most popular theory is that the seven tribes are the Nahuatl speaking cultures who settled in central Mexico. These are the: Xochimilca, Tlahuica, Acolhua, Tlaxcalan, Tepaneca, Chalca, and Mexica.

What were the Aztecs culture?

MATOS MOCTEZUMA: The Aztec was fundamentally a culture based on war and agriculture. Their two most important deities were Huitzilopochtli, the god of war, and Tlaloc, the god of rain. The duality of war and agriculture was crucial for the Aztec economy.