Where did the 2015 Tour de France start?

Jump to navigation Jump to search. The 2015 Tour de France was the 102nd edition of the Tour de France, one of cycling’s Grand Tours. The 3,360.3 km (2,088 mi)-long race started in Utrecht, the Netherlands, on 4 July 2015, and concluded with the Champs-Élysées stage in Paris, on 26 July.

How many stages are there in the Tour de France?

The 3,360.3 km (2,088 mi)-long race consisted of 21 stages, starting on 4 July in Utrecht, the Netherlands, and concluding on 26 July with the Champs-Élysées stage in Paris. A total of 198 riders from 22 teams entered the race.

Who was the winner of stage eleven of the Tour de France?

Stage eleven was another mountainous stage; it was won by Rafał Majka (Tinkoff–Saxo), who was part of the early breakaway and attacked on the slopes of the Col du Tourmalet.

Who are the Black Riders in the Tour de France?

Eritrean riders Daniel Teklehaimanot and Merhawi Kudus, both of MTN–Qhubeka, became the first black Africans to compete in the Tour de France. Riders from nine countries won stages during the race; German riders won the largest number of stages, with six.

Who are the winners of the Tour de France?

Romain Bardet of AG2R La Mondiale was given the award for the most combative rider. André Greipel ( Lotto–Soudal) won the most stages, with four. For a more comprehensive list, see List of teams and cyclists in the 2015 Tour de France.

How many teams are in the Tour de France?

Twenty-two teams participated in the 2015 edition of the Tour de France. The race was the 18th of the 28 events in the UCI World Tour, and all of its seventeen UCI WorldTeams were automatically invited, and obliged, to attend the race.

Who are the wildcard teams in the Tour de France?

Among the wildcard teams was MTN–Qhubeka, the first African trade team to participate in the Tour. As each team was entitled to enter nine riders, the peloton on the first stage consisted of 198 riders. These came from 32 countries. 41 riders – approximately a fifth of the peloton – were French; no other nation had more than 20 riders in the race.