Where do all political parties in India get their symbols from?

All registered parties contesting elections need to choose a symbol from a list of available symbols offered by the EC. All 28 states of the country along with the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Puducherry have elected governments unless President’s rule is imposed under certain conditions.

What makes a party a state party in India?

If a Party fails to win any seat in a State in a general election of Lok Sabha or Legislative Assembly of the State, the party will still be eligible for recognition as State Party if it secures 8% or more of the total valid votes polled in the State. 1. Aam Aadmi Party 2. Arunachal Congress

How many national political parties are there in India?

A party which state/s in which it is recognised as such. A party which secures at-least 6 percent of the votes polled in the State can be recognised as a state or regional party. Currently there are 7 national political parties in India BJP, INC, CPI, CPI (M), NCP, BSP and TMC.

Which is the only multi party system in India?

Urban bodies: India has a multi-party system with recognition accorded to national and state and district level parties. The status is reviewed periodically by the Election Commission of India. Other political parties that wish to contest local, state or national elections are required to be registered by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Which is the national level Party of ECI?

According to the notification, six national-level parties are registered with the ECI – Bahujan Samaj Party, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bhartiya Communist Party, Bhartiya Communist Party (Marxist), Indian National Congress, and Rashtrawadi Congress Party.

How many political parties are registered in India?

In addition, national and state parties have to fulfill these conditions for all subsequent Lok Sabha or State elections, or else they lose their status. As per latest publication from Election Commission of India, the total number of parties registered was 2698, with 8 national parties, 52 state parties and 2638 unrecognised parties.