Who plays flanker for Scotland?

Openside Flanker Hamish went on to start in all Autumn Tests that year, as well as Scotland’s five tests at the 2018 NatWest 6 Nations.

What is the Scotland rugby team nickname?

the Bravehearts
The team is nicknamed the Bravehearts. Though its foundations may date back to as early as 1904, the team formally began in 1995, making them the newest international rugby league team in Great Britain. In their first match they played Ireland, losing narrowly.

How many 6 Nations have Scotland won?

15 times
Six Nations Scotland have won the title outright 15 times and shared the championship a further nine times. Scotland have won three Grand Slams (including the Triple Crown) in 1925, 1984 and 1990, in addition to a further seven Triple Crowns. They also contest the Calcutta Cup with England as part of the championship.

When did Scotland last win 5 nations?

The finale of the 1999 Five Nations championship – the last of its kind – remains one of the most momentous weekends in Scottish sport.

Who is Scotland’s scrum half?

Greig Laidlaw
Greig Laidlaw (born 12 October 1985) is a Scottish rugby union player. He plays as a scrum-half and as a fly-half for Shining Arcs. Laidlaw holds the record for most caps as captain, 39, of the Scottish national team.

Does Scotland have a rugby league team?

The Scottish National League is the highest tier exclusively Scottish rugby league competition and comprises four teams: Aberdeen Warriors, Ayrshire Storm, Easterhouse Panthers, and Edinburgh Eagles.

How many times have Scotland won the wooden spoon?

Since then, Ireland has won the wooden spoon 29 times, followed by Scotland on 21, England on 19 and Wales on 16.

Who is the most capped Scottish rugby player?

Ross William Ford
Hooker. ​Ross William Ford is Scotland’s most-capped Scotsman of all time, overtaking the record held by Chris Paterson since 2011 when he earned his 110th appearance against Fiji in the third test of the 2017 summer tour.

Which player has won the most 6 Nations?


Player Name Points Nation
Chris Paterson 403 Scotland
Greig Laidlaw 290 Scotland
Gavin Hastings 288 Scotland
David Humphreys 270 Ireland

What are the 5 nations in rugby?

England, Wales, Ireland, France, Scotland and Italy compete every year for the prestigious championship trophy. Originally formed as the Home Nations Championship in 1883, the competition has blossomed over the years and became its current format in 2000 when Italy joined the Five Nations.

Who has won the most 5 6 Nations?

Six Nations Championship

Current season or competition: 2022 Six Nations Championship
The Guinness Six Nations logo
Country England France Ireland Italy Scotland Wales
Holders Wales (2021)
Most titles Wales and England (39 titles)

Is there a Scottish national rugby union team?

Not to be confused with Scotland A national rugby league team. The Scotland A team are the second national rugby union team behind the Scottish national side. The first Scotland ‘A’ fixture took place in 1990.

Is the Scotland a team a national team?

The Scotland ‘A’ side in rugby union is classed as a senior national side, along with the full national side and the Scotland 7s international side. When players play for any of these 3 senior sides; they commit their nationality to Scotland; and cannot then normally switch nationality to another international side.

When did Scotland play in the Rugby World Cup?

Scotland XV represented Scotland during the 1999 Rugby World Cup – European qualification, easily defeating Portugal by 85–11, and Spain by 85–3, in Murrayfield. Unlike association football, where the main team is supposed to be the “A” team, Scotland A in rugby union is actually equivalent to the Scotland B football team.

When did Scotland win their first Rugby grand slam?

In 1926, Scotland became the first Home nation side to defeat England at Twickenham after England had won the Grand Slam five times in eight seasons. The outbreak of the Second World War in September 1939 brought rugby union in Scotland to a halt.